The Beach Boys

Phoenix, AZ July 7, 2012

I washed down my Zin Burger with a Malibu bay breeze, in an attempt to calm my nerves.  I think I had less nerves on my wedding day.  A moment that I dreamed of for a decade was about to come true.  I never imagined it would, but when I found out the Beach Boys were touring for their 50th anniversary AND that Brian Wilson would be a part of this, my dream was in reach.  This dream I speak of… is to see Brian Wilson perform live – the extension of this dream was to meet the surviving members of one of my favorite bands.

Like many people from many different generations, I was raised on the music my parents listened to, namely The Beach Boys.  It’s fun, fun, fun music that has been completely recognizable and loved for 50 years.  Sorry about the pun, but I had to, hehehe.

As a child, I can remember my aunt playing it in the car for us, and  joyfully singing along.  The boys also made quite the impression on me when they appeared on the popular 90’s TGIF show, Full House.  My love and appreciation for the group grew tremendously when I was in high school.  I was so into them.  I even had a crush on drummer, Dennis Wilson, just four decades too late.  I got teased a little bit, but I didn’t care.  I downloaded every song, Bandstand and Sullivan performance, and any other video footage I could find.

You could imagine my excitement when I found out that they were coming to my New Jersey high school’s arena to put on a concert.  It was destiny!  This was December of 2003.  I saw Mike Love and Bruce Johnston perform, and purchased that license plate you see at the top of the page.  It was so amazing to me, but I told myself I needed to, one day, see Brian Wilson perform with them.  I think each of the members brings and have brought so much to the group to make it the magic that it is, but I have a special respect for Brian Wilson’s musical talent.

So, just 8.5 years later the stars aligned and the universe said that I am supposed to sit front row at the Beach Boys concert and meet:  Brian Wilson, Mike Love, Al Jardine, Bruce Johnston, and David Marks.  I was much obliged.

BTW, that guy behind me kept shouting out his love for Brian the entire concert.

As expected, when the crowd got seating, it looked like Tommy Bahama threw up in there; t’was a sea of Hawaiian shirts and flip flops.  It was great to see people of all ages having a blast.  Let me tell you, these guys who are all at or around 70 years old performed the shit out of 50 songs.   They really gave it their all (trust me, I was right there I could see it!), and the harmonies and energy were on point.  It was one of the most incredible times of my life, and I’m so happy I got to share it with my husband.

They even included the participation of the members who passed – brothers, Carl and Dennis Wilson – by playing original recordings, on which each sang lead.

Mike made the ladies swoon with his winks and smirks.  He really knows how to work a crowd.  All the guys did a great job getting everyone involved; on their feet and clapping along… even Wayne was clapping and swaying, as long as I was doing it – he needed a guide so he didn’t mess up.  He really cracks me up.

That’s the best shot I could get of Brian.  His hair is still the same.

David Marks did a wonderful job, and so did the rest of the band.

We didn’t learn John Cowsill(of the Cowsills) was drumming, until he was introduced at the show.  Very exciting stuff.  The rain, the park, and other things, was the song we played at the beginning of our wedding reception, so it was very special treat to have him there, too.  We actually saw him in the parking lot before the show, but didn’t know it was him.  He had a broken iPhone in his hand.  That’s all.

There’s Brian again, couldn’t you tell?

I tried to get a good shot of Mike Love’s  hand, full of “pimp” rings.  No, Mike Love is not a pimp – to my knowledge.  I just don’t know a better way to describe them.  He was such a flirt with all the girls and a very funny “host”, if you will.  He made a joke about loving his first car so much, but loving his new Bentley even more.  You could tell, they were such sweet guys, and so humble even after a lifetime of such success.

 This one makes me laugh.

My Beach Boys swag.

Some nostalgia.

This is pretty cool too…

Bruce Johnston, Alan Jardine, Brian Wilson, Mike Love, and David Marks

I LOVE THE BEACH BOYS! THIS WILL BE SOMETHING I’LL REMEMBER FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE.  I FEEL SO FORTUNATE AND HONORED TO HAVE HAD THIS EXPERIENCE.

HAVE YOU FULFILLED ANY OF YOUR DREAMS LATELY?

I HOPE YOU ENJOYED THIS POST!

AND

I HOPE YOU ENJOY THE BEACH BOYS’ MUSIC!

Until really soon,

Renee

2 thoughts on “The Beach Boys

Leave a Reply

