China Cabinet: Before & After

Before we moved to Arizona we didn’t have a need, or space, for much furniture. Everything we had was second-hand and random besides our awful couch- which we don’t have anymore, buh-bye! Anyway, we we’re shopping at a local antique store – specifically seeking out some sort of china cabinet or breakfront for our dining room. In the store for hours and going back and forth between two options. Neither ideal, but we’re on a budget.

I opted for the more well-made and compartmentally-endowed piece of furniture… I think I just made up a word. I saw past the unsightly plates it displayed and it’s almost green finish. We took her home and I got to sanding.

THESE ARE SOME BEFORE SHOTS.

I painted it, a Martha Stewart “Chinchilla” grey color. I didn’t want it to be white or cream, because everything else around here(Arizona) is a shade of brown, whether it be the landscape, buildings, interior paint. Bleh, bleh and bleh! This barely there grey makes me feel clean and happy.

LEAVING THE TOP DOORS OFF, MADE IT LOOK MORE AUTHENTIC. HAD I LEFT THEM ON, IT WOULD HAVE LOOKED TOO 1970’S IF YOU CATCH MY DRIFT. I TOOK MUCH SATISFACTION IN MERCHANDISING TO OUR SPECIFIC NEEDS. I DON’T HAVE “FINE CHINA” OR PRICELESS FIGURINES, BUT IT’S DEFINITELY FUNCTIONAL FOR US 🙂

WHUHCHEWTHINK?

I HOPE YOU ENJOYED THIS POST!

Until really soon,

Renee

8 thoughts on “China Cabinet: Before & After

  1. Next post I expect to see some sort of picture of me…. god. J/k ( not really) I love this…. came out so good. I cant wait to see it in person !!!

Leave a Reply

