Star-Spangled Banner & Union Jack Wall Hangings

The great thing about 4th of July decorations, is that they don’t necessarily have to be boxed up right after the holiday.  I’m not saying I’d leave out every star and stripe all year long, but something like a custom-made flag is more than acceptable.  So, I had the idea to make a wall hanging of an American flag.  I wanted it to look a little different,  though.  While I was figuring out what materials I would be using, it struck me!

Neck Ties!

Neck ties would be the perfect element to add uniqueness, variety, and a prep-school vintage flare to my flag.  Goodwill and eBay made my hunt for the perfect red ties very easy.  Thinking of the future, about where I would hang the flag after the holiday, I felt the guestroom would make a nice home.  Then the idea to make a second flag came into play.  The Union Jack flag was a quick decision;  it’s such a recognizable symbol, it’s beautiful, AND I could use the same materials and ties as I would for the American flag.

I chose a gorgeous and consequently, very expensive blue velvet and a moderately priced army duck canvas(cream color) for both flags.  Oh, and I used some sort of white utility fabric for the stars on the American flag.  I think the rich velvet and the simple canvas complement each other beautifully.

HOMEWORK TIME!

If you had a blank sheet of paper on which to draw the American flag, you might be confident at first, but then may realize you have about a million questions.  Maybe that’s just me hehe…  Then when it came the the Union Jack, I just tried to think of the Reebok sneaker box, but I still wasn’t sure what was correct.

So I googled it.

 AND IT WAS TIME TO GET STARTED.

I really had to channel Betsy Ross for this one.  I tried my hardest to keep the correct ratios and details of both flags, they might be a little off, but hey, who cares?  They both measure about 56″ x 30″, give or take.  I didn’t really have a full plan or even a half plan for this project.  FYI- that’s probably a bad idea, I wouldn’t recommend it.  Having only very basic sewing skills, I really didn’t know what types of issues could arise.  I wasn’t trying to be unprepared, I just didn’t think it would be so difficult or time consuming.  I worked on these flags for over a week straight, after I had all the materials an idea of the size I wanted them to be.  Basically, I planned on posting this on Wednesday and it’s clearly not Wednesday.  I made a lot of mistakes and learned as I went.  They were a huge pain in the ass, but I’m really glad I did it!

HERE THEY ARE…

I love history, especially early American History.  This project was also a nice reminder of what the flag stands for and all the brave people it took and still takes to maintain our freedom.

How will you be spending your holiday? Who will you spend it with? What will you wear?  And most importantly, what kind of food will you be eating?

Everyone, have a safe and happy 4th of July!

I HOPE YOU ENJOYED THIS POST!

Until really soon,

Renee

PS LET ME KNOW WHAT YOU THINK!

17 thoughts on “Star-Spangled Banner & Union Jack Wall Hangings

  1. Pingback: FOURTH OF JULY: FASHIONS |

Leave a Reply

