A Couple of TWO-TONE, Annie Sloan Makeovers

By now, it’s probable you’re aware that I love to use Annie Sloan Chalk Paint.

I DO! I DO!

 In this case, that’s particularly true, because I wasn’t about to lug my dresser outside for sanding.  No sir!

The two finished pieces I will show you today, I purchased at the end of 2011, so their makeovers have been a long time coming.  The dresser, I purchased at an antique store in Mesa and the mirror, at the Cave Creek Thieves Market.  I’ve been a little adventurous lately, so I figured I do both pieces in two colors.  Since I wanted to achieve an old layered look for the dresser,  I even thought to use a little crackle glaze… so that’s what I did!

The Dresser & The Mirror

The Paint Colors

I chose:  French Linen and Old White

The Mirror

The only thing I found out about this, is that the people I bought it from, purchased it at an auction.  It’s very primitive looking; it’s held together by dowels – not nails.  I thought it was pretty awesome and it was only $24.  And it’s something you can’t buy at Restoration Hardware!

I fell in love with the carving at the top and the pressed glass.

First, I painted two coats of French Linen, then painted the top and the inner trim with Old White.  I aged it by using AS dark wax.

The Dresser

The color was fine, but I knew I wanted to get rid of the glossy finish.  I randomly applied the crackle glaze and waited for it to dry.  I painted the Old White parts first, then I painted the drawers in the French Linen.  It’s actually a mixture of 2 parts French Linen, one part Old White.  After the first coat, there was too much paint showing through, but was fine after the second coat.  I wasn’t going for a “super-defined” crackle look, I just wanted it to look a little aged.  With some patience, I achieved my desired look.  I used clear wax, mixed with a dab of dark wax.  I also painted the hardware and key holes in Old White.

WITHOUT FURTHER ADIEU…

I LOVE THE RESULTS, AND FEEL EACH PIECE BRINGS A UNIQUE QUALITY TO EACH ROOM.  I DIDN’T EVEN USE A FULL QUART OF PAINT; IN TOTAL, I SPENT $189 FOR THE DRESSER, MIRROR AND THE PAINT USED.  I THINK THAT’S QUITE THRIFTY OF ME!

Just two more reason why I love Annie Sloan.

OK, JUST ONE MORE TIME!

BEFORE AND AFTER

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OR COMMENTS, DON’T BE SHY 😉

I HOPE YOU ENJOYED THIS POST!

HERE’S A LITTLE CLUE FOR A PROJECT I LOVE, THAT I WILL FEATURE NEXT WEEK

CURIOUS?

BE SURE TO COME BACK AND CHECK IT OUT!

Until really soon,

Renee

 

7 thoughts on “A Couple of TWO-TONE, Annie Sloan Makeovers

  1. I love how the mirror came out!!!!! And I feel lucky to have a insider tip as to what with ” tie” together next week!!! Get it??

  2. Renee, You have done it again! I love French Linen, it is one of my favorite colors to use right now. That mirror was quite a find and adds so much character to your room.
    Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
    Patty
    Green Table Gifts

Leave a Reply

