An OVEN in the BATHROOM?

On one of my many trips to Mesa, I stumbled upon something very interesting while shopping at the Antique Plaza. At first I wasn’t sure what it was, but then I read the tag and had an “ah-ha” moment.  Ohhhh, I see, it’s a little girl’s oven toy from the 1940’s.  How darling?!  I say “little girl’s” with complete confidence, because were talking about the 1940’s.  I’m partially surprised it didn’t come with a list of “wifely duties.”  Oh, I’m just kidding!  Kind of  😉

Anyway.

I was in love.  I mainly loved that it was made of wood.  If it were a toy from my day, it would be an obnoxious colored plastic.  There’s nothing wrong with that, I just wouldn’t want to use that to decorate my house.  There was something particularly charming about this toy. Just by the looks of it, it’s age was obvious.  It was in extremely rough condition, and reduced in price (from $65 to $40).  I was already emotionally involved and now I see that it’s on sale!  You’d figure it’d be a shoe-in. I stared at the toy for a while and then walked away.  I walked back to it and thought about it some more.

Should I get it?

Well, I didn’t.  I left without it.  I don’t know what I was thinking.  I felt like a good person because I resisted a good sale, but I felt awful leaving it there.  I went ALL the way back home with no oven toy.  INSTANT regret. Regret, as soon as I drove away with my speakers blasting One Sweet Day (by Mariah Carey feat. Boyz II Men), all the while – crying my eyes out.  I’m not being serious.  I hope no one would think I’m THAT ridiculous.  Even though the dramatic scene I just described, didn’t happen, I do currently have a burned CD in my car with that song on it.  Yikes, I know! But I loved Mariah before she started to only “whisper-sing”, and Boyz II Men was always phenomenal.

Two weeks had passed and I was still thinking about this bleepin’ toy!  My home without this oven, would be like Boyz II Men without Wanya… not as good.

BACK TO MESA!

I decided to drag Wayne down to Mesa to see if, by chance, myoven was still there. My level of anxiety, as I walked into the store, was incredible.  I couldn’t get there fast enough.  I remembered the exact location of the toy.  I held my husband’s hand as I darted us down to the bottom level of the store, and then to the back-left corner.

THERE IT WAS!

It was meant to be!  I, or should I say Wayne, wasted no time hauling my new find upstairs.    I felt at ease.  It was mine at last!  I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it yet, but I had never seen anything like it and I knew I had to have it. When we got home, the toy stayed in the garage for a bit until Wayne cleaned out the spiders and shhhtuff.  I DON’T. like spiders.

First, I contemplated using it in the kitchen, but then figured that’s too much oven for one room.  The BATHROOM!  That’s it!  It would be the ideal thing to organize my beauty products.  I measured it and I was a perfect fit –  in between the “his and her’s” sinks.   Once that was decided, I got to cleanin’ it.  It was really dirty.

Here’s how I fixed her up…

ONE.

AFTER SHE WAS ALL CLEAN, I REMOVED THE HARDWARE.  BECAUSE THE PAINT WAS RATHER “CHIPPY”, I LIGHTLY SANDED AWAY THE LOOSE PAINT.  I DID THIS OUTDOORS (When sanding older/painted things, it’s especially important to protect your eyes, and to wear a mask.  It’s possible there is LEAD in the paint, and that is TOXIC.  Always wear goggles and a mask when sanding).

  

TWO.

I TOOK A HAMMER TO THE RUSTY SCREWS THAT WERE STICKING OUT OF THE FRONT LEFT SIDE.  I JUST HAMMERED THEM RIGHT INTO THE WOOD UNTIL THEY WERE A LITTLE BEYOND FLUSH.

THREE.

ONCE THE OVEN WAS DRY FROM CLEANING OFF ANY DUST, I USED ANNIE SLOAN CHALK PAINT (PARIS GREY) TO PAINT THE INSIDE.  I PAINTED THE INSIDE OF THE THREE DRAWERS AND THE OVEN ITSELF.  LEFT TO DRY.

FOUR.

I TAPED OFF THE TOP OF THE TOY, BECAUSE I WANTED TO LEAVE IT UNPAINTED TO KEEP SOME OF THE OLD CHARM.  I USED THE CHALK PAINT (DUCK EGG BLUE) FOR THE FRONT AND SIDES OF THE OVEN, AND THE FRONTS OF THE DRAWERS.  I PAINTED TWO COATS.  LEFT TO DRY.

FIVE.

I PULLED THE BLUE TAPE OFF AND CLEAR WAXED IT.  I ADDED SOME DARK WAX ON TOP OF THE CLEAR AND BUFFED IT.  FINALLY, I REATTACHED THE HARDWARE.  IT WAS ALL DONE AND READY TO USE.  YAY!

I dressed it up with my products and bathroom accessories.  I love the look it brings to our bathroom.

BEFORE

AFTER

 There are no rules when it comes to decorating.  If you can think it, DO IT!

I HOPE YOU ENJOYED THIS POST!

Until really soon,

Renee

PS I’m going to Sweet Salvage today for the first time in it’s new location.  Sweet Salvage is junk picker’s dream in Phoenix, AZ.  SWEETSALVAGE.NET  It’s every third Thursday of the month, for four days.  Stayed tuned on Sunday when I post all about it.  It’s some really exciting stuff!

4 thoughts on “An OVEN in the BATHROOM?

Leave a Reply

