HAPPY HOUR, the New “Old Fashioned” BAR Way

 What does this look like to you?

How about a BAR?

1.  Let’s see how I transform this old bar

2.  What I dress it up with

3.  Then sit back cuz I’m serving up an Old  Fashioned for Happy Hour!

I didn’t want to shell out, even, a couple hundred dollars for something like a bar.  I came across this piece at an antique store in Mesa, AZ.  It had an interesting look to it. I think someone hand-made it from and old fence.  I couldn’t beat the price, at $75, so it came home with us.

Now, what to do with it, what to do?  Originally, I painted chalkboard paint on the “backsplash” area but left the rest as it was.

Should I paint it or leave it as is?  I tend to over think things and sometimes that delays my decision-making, even for unimportant things.  After six months, I’ve now decided to paint it!  Maybe tomorrow I’ll paint it again, who knows?

What paint to use, and which color?

I decided on Annie Sloan Chalk Paint.   Not just because it’s totally awesome, but mainly because that meant I didn’t have to sand the bar beforehand.  The color I chose doesn’t have a name because I mixed four colors together.  I was going for a neutral grayish/taupe-ish/hint of minty greenish.  I don’t quite remember the ratios, but it was mostly “French Linen.”  I added a decent amount of “Duck Egg Blue”, a touch of “Pure White”, and then I just went wild and added a bit of “Country Grey.”  Clearly, I live on the edge.

I am pleased with the color, but I haven’t waxed it yet.  I may strategically use some dark wax to give it a faux patina.

I left the sides and top of the bar unpainted.

I replaced the worn wooden door-pulls with white glass knobs from Anthropologie.  These were a steal, at $2.95 a piece.  I love clearance.

Wanna see how it turned out?  ONE sec, let me just show you some of the bar accoutrements first.

Bar Accessories

Since I love mixing the old with new, this is the approach I took when purchasing bar accessories.  I’m not a big drinker, so I sat down and thought out what the essentials are for  home bar.  I planned on being able to entertain a little bit and I’d need tools to mix cocktails.  Established, new, old, happy, friendly, fresh, and plentiful are all qualities I want my bar to possess.

Here are the accessories and decor I bought.

Thurston Bar Tool Set from Pottery Barn – $49.00

S.A.V.V.Y. pick from a local flea market – $1.00

Speakeasy MONOGRAMMED Coasters from Pottery Barn (set of 4) – $29.50

MONOGRAMMED Square Decanter from Pottery Barn – $36.00 with monogram

S.A.V.V.Y. pick from flea market – $12, lined with Ikea knit basket – $9.99 for 2-pack, and Ikea bar rags – $0.79

TO ADD A PERSONAL TOUCH, I USED MY GREAT-GRANDMOTHER’S PHOTOS IN THE DECORATING.

I used some cheap frames I found at Marshall’s and even a S.A.V.V.Y. clock face to frame a photo.  We save all our corks.  We have some from the night we got engaged, anniversaries, our first wedding, our honeymoon, and from every bottle of finished wine.  I hate when my husband buys the twist-off bottles of wine, I want the corks! I love the way they look in abundance.

That little wire basket was only  $6.95 at Sur la Table

  

A cutting board for fruit and pulley wheel adds some character.

Colorful paper straws from Sur la Table – $5.95

AND NOW… THE NEW OLD FASHIONED BAR

I’m happy with the color and it took me no time, at all, to paint.

 

 

WHAT’S YOUR DRINK OF CHOICE?

Personally, I like champagne.  Like I said before, I’m not much of a drinker, but I do drink champagne and Malibu Bay Breezes on occasion.  My husband likes to pretend he is Don Draper a little bit, so he likes an Old Fashioned once in a while.

I LOVE WHEN THERE ARE SNACKS INVOLVED.

THE RECIPE

There are so many variations of the Old Fashioned recipe.  These are the ingredients I use:

1.  JOHNNY WALKER BLACK

2.  ONE CUBE OF SUGAR

3.  TWO ORANGE SLICES AND TWO MARASCHINO CHERRIES

4.  ONE LEMON TWIST

5.  THREE DASHES OF ANGOSTURA BITTERS

6.  ICE

INSTRUCTIONS:

PLACE THE SUGAR CUBE IN THE GLASS, THEN ADD THE BITTERS.  MUDDLE THE SUGAR AND BITTERS, THEN ADD ONE CHERRY AND ONE ORANGE SLICE AND MUDDLE THAT.  ADD THE ICE AND TWO OUNCES OF WHISKEY, AND STIR.  GARNISH WITH A CHERRY, ORANGE SLICE, AND LEMON TWIST.  THEN DRINK!

Sheldon and I hope you enjoyed this post.  Everyone have a safe weekend… don’t drink and drive!

Until really soon,

Renee

PS HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY TO ALL THE MOMS OUT THERE!

10 thoughts on “HAPPY HOUR, the New “Old Fashioned” BAR Way

  1. Hi Renee, I’m really enjoying your Blogs keep them coming great job! I love the bar it looks awesome.

Leave a Reply

