Vintage Market: JUNK in the TRUNK

MAY 5, 2012

Come along for a trip to the Vintage Market.  See the finds, the inspiration, and WHAT I BROUGHT HOME!

I look forward to the weekends that bring flea markets and other S.A.V.V.Y. events; this past weekend was one of them.  My husband and I arrived before the “serious” heat came.  Arizona natives might laugh at what I consider serious heat, but all I know is my flip flops were too hot to walk on by noon.  They’re the “jelly” type of flip flop.  Please don’t judge me. You know, the kind that were really cool in the 90’s.  Well, I never had a pair.  Small childhood dream, fulfilled!  I’m, honestly, surprised they didn’t melt.  It really was THAT hot.  Despite the heat, my excitement for the day was not curbed.

 I was PUMPED!

Wayne was also especially excited for the Junk in the Trunk Vintage Market, because it was only a few minutes away from our place.  I usually drag him 30-40 minutes to one of these things.

What did this event have in store for us?

Everything was well-excuted.  The vendors and the people involved were all very friendly.  Many of these vendors had local or online shops, so it was a great way to get a good idea of where to shop.  Other than the S.A.V.V.Y. types of stores, there was a tent selling Annie Sloan Chalk Paint; hand-made jewelry stands and a Phoenix letter-press company were also represented.

They even had a demonstration on how to use Chalk Paint and live music.

It was a wonderful two hours, but high noon hit and we left… not before seeing all of this:

As expected, some things were priced fairly and others were a little off.  But hey, it can’t hurt to try to negotiate a little bit.  Simply browsing at these events is a good time.

ONE OF A KIND FINDS

I didn’t just see cool stuff and meet great people, but I came across a lot of project inspiring things. Here are a few…

Using deep-fryer baskets for plants.

Chalkboard paint on silver trays, repurposing old books into vases and a beautiful wreath!

NOW, DOWN TO THE IMPORTANT STUFF… WHAT DID I BRING HOME?

MY FINDS

 baking molds

teeny-tiny vanity mirror

 yeah, I can’t explain why I bought it, but I’ll use it, you’ll see.

this beautiful letterpress print, very appropriate for me.

an old game piece, I can come up with something good for this one.

I’ve actually been in the market for one of these.

AND NOW…

THE COOLEST THING I’VE FOUND LATELY…

 

IT’S A MILITARY FIELD DESK

pritty, pritty, pritty, pritty, pritty. Pretty cool.  it was acquired and reused by the Prescott, AZ fire cache, and now it’s mine.

It was a head-turner.  While I waited for Wayne to pull up with the car, I had several people inquire about it.  Come back to see how I use all my fun finds.

I hope you enjoyed our trip to the Vintage Market!

Until really soon

Renee

3 thoughts on “Vintage Market: JUNK in the TRUNK

  1. I loved your picks! And you are right the field desk was pretty awesome! So glad you got to listen to the demos of Annie Sloan Chalk Paint, I can’t wait to see what you create with it, it is pretty amazing to use. Looking forward to seeing your next projects.

Leave a Reply

